Note: Automatic translation without proofreading.

The 2010s are a dark decade for the democratic rule of law. The enormous increase in power of right-wing populist parties in Europe and America, and the development of more autocratic regimes in Eastern Europe and South America - the liberal consensus is dissolving worldwide. Since the end of the Cold War, this consensus has consisted of the worldwide shared conviction that democracy, the rule of law and cooperation are the basis of all political progress. The core idea of the liberal consensus was that politics and law were interdependent, but independent and controlled. But right-wing populist and authoritarian politics of recent history, which does not accept any limitation by the rule of law, are throwing this stable relationship between law and politics out of kilter. Against this background, the lecture series, which began in the summer semester of 2019, poses the question of how law and politics can be rethought through critical approaches in legal theory.

The lecture series is organized by Karsten Schubert with the support of the team of the Chair of Political Theory, Philosophy and History of Ideas at the Albert-Ludwigs-University Freiburg and in cooperation with the Freiburger Colloquium politicum.


Winter semester 2019/20

Dr. Svenja Ahlhaus (Hamburg):
Democracy, borders and membership

Tuesday, November 26, 19, 6 p.m. c.t., HS 3042, KG I

In democracies there is daily dispute about membership: Do naturalisation tests make sense? Should prisoners be allowed to vote? Can convicted terrorists have their passports revoked? It seems indisputable, however, that it is ‘we’ who are allowed to decide on ‘our’ borders. Against this widespread assumption, the thesis of the lecture is that membership decisions should be taken jointly by citizens and non-citizens. States are not clubs that can determine their own membership criteria, but must involve outsiders in decision-making on these border issues. But who should participate and how should decisions be taken? The lecture develops the outlines of a critical membership theory.

Workshop on 27.11.19, 9 o'clock s.t. - 12 o'clock s.t.

In the workshop we have the opportunity for an intensive discussion based on texts. The text will be sent when you register, which should be done by 20.11.19 at sekretariat.riescher@politik.uni-freiburg.de


Jun.-Prof. Dr. Jelena von Achenbach, LL.M. (Giessen):
Gender and democratic representation under the Basic Law

Monday, 13.01.20, 18 o'clock c.t., Haus zur Lieben Hand, Löwenstraße 16

In all German parliaments, the majority of elected members are men. In Baden-Württemberg, the proportion of men in the state parliament is 75.5 percent. In the Bundestag it is 68.7 percent. Against this background, can and should all parties be legally obliged to nominate as many women as men for elections (“parity”)? This is very controversial in Germany at both federal and state level. In the lecture and workshop, this dispute over parity provides the material for discussing what the unequal gender relations in the parliaments mean for the democratic quality of political representation. This is a normative, democratic-theoretical and at the same time a legal question. For it is directly about the central democratic principles of the constitution: political equality and freedom, representative democracy and the openness of the democratic process. The dispute over unequal gender relations in the German parliaments and parity essentially revolves around whether the constitutional principles develop a critical, progressive meaning. Or do they instead legitimize and preserve the status quo as formal principles (“The members of the Bundestag are representatives of the entire people”)?

Workshop on 14.01.20, 9 o'clock s.t. - 12 o'clock s.t.

In the workshop we have the possibility for an intensive discussion on text basis. The text will be sent with the registration, which is to take place until 07.01.20 under sekretariat.riescher@politik.uni-freiburg.de


Prof. Dr. Elisabeth Holzleithner (Vienna): Crises of the liberal constitutional state. On the question of fear

Monday, 27.01.2020, 6 p.m. c.t., Haus zur Lieben Hand, Löwenstraße 16

It is no news that the liberal constitutional state is in crisis. In Hungary, illiberal democracy was proclaimed years ago; nationalist movements are calling for Law & Order, but are not so particular about the rule of law. Human rights and tolerance are relativized when it comes to the rights of “others” of other faiths, especially those seeking asylum, and sometimes the validity of the European Convention on Human Rights is even questioned. The fear of “imported” dangers is the main driving force behind these developments, and is fuelled by resentful narratives.

It is at this point, the role of fear, that the lecture begins. As people's fear of each other, it has played a very central role in the founding and design of the modern state, at least since Hobbes. It is taken to its extreme with Carl Schmitt, who virtually celebrates the danger that people pose to each other. He considers liberalism to be politically naive because it is based on an overly optimistic view of humanity. But anyone who takes fear seriously as an eminently political factor does not have to end up with a strong or even total state. At least that is Judith Shklar's intuition, which she spells out in her “Liberalism of Fear”.

Against this background, the lecture asks the question of whether fear can be productively turned in politics and whether ways can be found to gradually lead the liberal constitutional state out of the crisis.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

Workshop on 01/28/20, 9:00 s.t. - 12:00 s.t.

In the workshop we have the possibility for an intensive discussion on text basis. The text will be sent with the registration, which is to take place until 23.01.20 under sekretariat.riescher@politik.uni-freiburg.de


Previous lectures in summer semester 2019

Dr. Kolja Möller (Bremen):
Populism and Constitution

Tuesday, 28.05.19, 18.00 c.t., Great Hall, Haus zur Lieben Hand, Löwenstr.16

People's sovereignty returns to our present as a political point of reference. In the name of popular sovereignty, the newer right-wing populist movements in Europe, the USA and Latin America want to regain control of a national community; in the name of popular sovereignty, they are installing new national constitutions, as was the case in Hungary and Turkey; and in the name of popular sovereignty, individual states are withdrawing from the established treaty systems of international law. A “populist” constitutional change has long been underway, challenging the liberal democracy that has increasingly spread throughout the world since the 1990s. The central thesis of the lecture is that only a more systematic examination of the relationship between populism and the constitution can identify those starting points that counteract an authoritarian transformation of democracy. In particular, a constitutional policy is called for that does not shut down the “pouvoir constituant”, the constitutional power of the people, but re-specifies its oppositional moment - the criticism of the independence of the elites and organ authorities - appropriately for the globalized world.

Workshop on Wednesday, 29.05., 9-12

In the workshop we have the opportunity for intensive discussions on part of his current book project. The as yet unpublished text establishes a new theory of populism as a political form and opens up new possibilities for critical populism analysis. Please register for the workshop at karsten.schubert@politik.uni-freiburg.de


Dr. Tim Wihl (FU Berlin):
The Demo as Revolt

Monday, 15.07.19, 18.00 c.t., HS 1119, KG I

What makes a demonstration? Their demarcation from revolution or rebellion seems clear at first glance. Is a demonstration simply a collective expression of opinion? In the lecture, the phenomenon of the demo will be classified against the background of democratic theory, human rights and newer revolutionary theory. Tim Wihl shows that demos can be symbols of countervailing power that fuel plebeian or populist revolts.

Workshop on Tuesday, 16.07., 10-13h

In the workshop we have the opportunity for intensive discussions on part of his current book project. The unpublished text presents a theory of rights as critique. So we will discuss how rights can be used for socially critical projects and how they themselves are the result of resistance and revolts. Please register for the workshop at sekretariat.riescher@politik.uni-freiburg.de

Die 2010er Jahre sind ein düsteres Jahrzehnt für den demokratischen Rechtsstaat. Der enorme Machtzuwachs von rechtspopulistischen Parteien in Europa und Amerika, und die Entwicklung von autokratischeren Regimen in Osteuropa und Südamerika – weltweit löst sich der liberale Konsens auf. Dieser bestand seit dem Ende des Kalten Krieges in der weltweit geteilten Überzeugung, dass Demokratie, Rechtstaatlichkeit und Kooperation die Basis jedes politischen Fortschritts sind. Der Kerngedanke des liberalen Konsenses war, dass Politik und Recht sich wechselseitig bedingen, aber dabei unabhängig voneinander sind und sich gegenseitig kontrollieren. Doch rechtspopulistische und autoritäre Politik der jüngsten Geschichte, die keine Begrenzung durch Rechtstaatlichkeit akzeptiert, bringt dieses stabil gewähnte Verhältnis von Recht und Politik aus den Fugen. Die Vortragsreihe, die im Sommersemester 2019 begann, stellt vor diesem Hintergrund die Frage, wie Recht und Politik durch kritische Ansätze in der Rechtstheorie neu gedacht werden können.

Die Vortragsreihe wird organisiert von Karsten Schubert mit Unterstützung des Teams der Professur für Politische Theorie, Philosophie und Ideengeschichte der Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg und in Kooperation mit dem Freiburger Colloquium politicum.


Wintersemester 2019/20

Dr. Svenja Ahlhaus (Hamburg):
Demokratie, Grenzen und Mitgliedschaft

Dienstag, 26.11.19, 18 Uhr c.t., HS 3042, KG I

In Demokratien wird täglich über Mitgliedschaft gestritten: Sind Einbürgerungstests sinnvoll? Sollten Gefangene wählen dürfen? Dürfen verurteilten Terroristen die Pässe entzogen werden? Unstrittig scheint jedoch, dass ‚wir‘ es sind, die über ‚unsere‘ Grenzen entscheiden dürfen. Gegen diese verbreitete Annahme lautet die These des Vortrags, dass Mitgliedschaftsentscheidungen von Bürgerinnen und Nicht-Bürgerinnen gemeinsam getroffen werden sollten. Staaten sind keine Clubs, die über ihre Beitrittskriterien eigenständig bestimmen können, sondern müssen bei diesen Grenzfragen Außenstehende in die Entscheidungsfindung einbeziehen. Doch wer sollte teilhaben und wie soll entschieden werden? Der Vortrag entwickelt die Umrisse einer kritischen Mitgliedschaftstheorie.

Workshop am 27.11.19, 9 Uhr s.t. – 12 Uhr s.t.

Im Workshop haben wir die Möglichkeit zur intensiven Diskussion auf Textgrundlage. Der Text wird bei der Anmeldung verschickt, die bis 20.11.19 unter sekretariat.riescher@politik.uni-freiburg.de erfolgen soll.


Jun.-Prof. Dr. Jelena von Achenbach, LL.M. (Giessen):
Geschlecht und demokratische Repräsentation unter dem Grundgesetz

Montag, 13.01.20, 18 Uhr c.t., Haus zur Lieben Hand, Löwenstraße 16

In allen deutschen Parlamenten sind die gewählten Abgeordneten ganz überwiegend Männer. In Baden-Württemberg liegt der Männeranteil im Landtag bei 75,5 Prozent. Im Bundestag sind es 68,7 Prozent. Können und sollen vor diesem Hintergrund alle Parteien gesetzlich verpflichtet werden, genauso viele Frauen wie Männer für Wahlen aufzustellen („Parität“)? Das ist in Deutschland auf Bundes- wie auf Länderebene sehr umstritten. Dieser Streit um die Parität bildet im Vortrag und im Workshop das Material, um zu diskutieren, was die ungleichen Geschlechterverhältnisse in den Parlamenten für die demokratische Qualität der politischen Repräsentation bedeuten. Das ist eine normative, demokratietheoretische und zugleich eine rechtliche Frage. Denn es geht direkt um die zentralen demokratischen Grundsätze der Verfassung: politische Gleichheit und Freiheit, repräsentative Demokratie und die Offenheit des demokratischen Prozesses. Der Streit um die ungleichen Geschlechterverhältnisse in den deutschen Parlamenten und die Parität dreht sich im Kern darum, ob die verfassungsrechtlichen Grundsätze kritische, progressive Bedeutung entfalten. Oder legitimieren und konservieren sie stattdessen als formale Prinzipien („Die Abgeordneten des Bundestages sind Vertreter des ganzen Volkes.“) den Status quo?

Workshop am 14.01.20, 9 Uhr s.t. – 12 Uhr s.t.

Im Workshop haben wir die Möglichkeit zur intensiven Diskussion auf Textgrundlage. Der Text wird bei der Anmeldung verschickt, die bis 07.01.20 unter sekretariat.riescher@politik.uni-freiburg.de erfolgen soll.


Prof. Dr. Elisabeth Holzleithner (Wien): Krisen des liberalen Rechtsstaats. Zur Frage nach der Furcht

Montag, 27.01.2020, 18 Uhr c.t., Haus zur Lieben Hand, Löwenstraße 16

Es ist keine Neuigkeit, dass sich der liberale Rechtsstaat in der Krise befindet. In Ungarn wurde bereits vor Jahren die illiberale Demokratie ausgerufen; nationalistische Bewegungen fordern zwar Law & Order, nehmen es aber mit dem Rechtsstaat nicht so genau. Menschenrechte und Toleranz werden, wenn es um die Rechte der andersgläubigen, insbesondere Asyl suchenden „Anderen“ geht, relativiert und bisweilen wird gar die Geltung der Europäischen Menschenrechtskonvention in Frage gestellt. Wesentlicher Motor für die Entwicklungen ist die Furcht vor „importierten“ Gefahren, welche durch Ressentiment geladene Narrationen befördert wird.

An diesem Punkt, der Rolle der Furcht, setzt der Vortrag an. Als Furcht der Menschen voreinander spielt sie spätestens seit Hobbes eine ganz zentrale Rolle für Gründung und Design des modernen Staates. Auf die Spitze getrieben ist sie bei Carl Schmitt, der die Gefahr, die Menschen füreinander darstellen, geradezu zelebriert. Den Liberalismus hält er für politisch naiv, weil er von einem übertrieben optimistischen Menschenbild ausgehe. Wer die Furcht als eminent politischen Faktor ernstnimmt, muss indes nicht beim starken oder gar totalen Staat landen. Das ist jedenfalls die Intuition von Judith Shklar, die sie in ihrem „Liberalismus der Furcht“ ausbuchstabiert.

Vor diesem Hintergrund stellt der Vortrag die Frage, ob die Furcht in der Politik produktiv gewendet werden kann und ob sich lassen sich daraus Wege erschließen lassen, um den liberalen Rechtsstaat schrittweise aus der Krise zu führen.

Workshop am 28.01.20, 9 Uhr s.t. – 12 Uhr s.t.

Im Workshop haben wir die Möglichkeit zur intensiven Diskussion auf Textgrundlage. Der Text wird bei der Anmeldung verschickt, die bis 23.01.20 unter sekretariat.riescher@politik.uni-freiburg.de erfolgen soll.


Vorherige Vorträge im Sommersemester 2019

Dr. Kolja Möller (Bremen):
Populismus und Verfassung

Dienstag, 28.05.19, 18 Uhr c.t., Großer Saal, Haus zur Lieben Hand, Löwenstr.16

Die Volkssouveränität kehrt als politischer Bezugspunkt in unsere Gegenwart zurück. Im Namen der Volkssouveränität wollen die neueren rechtspopulistischen Bewegungen in Europa, den USA und Lateinamerika wieder Kontrolle über ein nationales Gemeinwesen erlangen; im Namen der Volkssouveränität installieren sie neue Nationalverfassungen, wie es in Ungarn und der Türkei der Fall war; und im Namen der Volkssouveränität ziehen sich einzelne Staaten aus den etablierten Vertragssystemen des internationalen Rechts zurück. Schon längst ist ein “populistischer” Verfassungswandel im Gange, der die liberale Demokratie, wie sie sich seit den 1990er Jahren zunehmend in der Welt verbreitet hat, herausfordert. Die zentrale These des Vortrags lautet, dass erst eine systematischere Betrachtung des Zusammenhangs von Populismus und Verfassung diejenigen Ansatzpunkte zu identifizieren vermag, die einer autoritären Transformation der Demokratie entgegenwirken. Insbesondere ist eine Verfassungspolitik angezeigt, die das „pouvoir constituant“, die verfassungsgebende Gewalt des Volkes, nicht still stellt, sondern ihr oppositionelles Moment – die Kritik an der Verselbstständigung der Eliten und Organgewalten – angemessen für die globalisierte Welt respezifiziert.

Workshop am Mittwoch, 29.05., 9-12

Im Workshop haben wir Gelegenheit zur intensiven Diskussionen eines Teils seines aktuellen Buchprojekts. Der noch unveröffentlichte Text etabliert eine neue Theorie des Populismus als politischer Form und eröffnet neue Möglichkeiten der kritischen Populismusanalyse. Anmeldungen zum Workshop bitte an karsten.schubert@politik.uni-freiburg.de


Dr. Tim Wihl (FU Berlin):
Die Demo als Revolte

Montag, 15.07.19, 18 Uhr c.t., HS 1119, KG I

Was macht eine Demonstration aus? Ihre Abgrenzung von einer Revolution oder Rebellion scheint auf den ersten Blick klar. Ist eine Demo schlicht mit einer kollektiven Meinungsäußerung gleichzusetzen? In dem Vortrag wird das Phänomen Demo vor dem Hintergrund der Demokratietheorie, der Menschenrechte und neuerer Revolutionstheorie eingeordnet. Tim Wihl zeigt, dass Demos Symbole der Gegenmacht sein können, die plebejische oder aber populistische Revolten befeuern.

Workshop am Dienstag, 16.07., 10-13h

Im Workshop haben wir Gelegenheit zur intensiven Diskussionen eines Teils seines aktuellen Buchprojekts. Der noch unveröffentlichte Text stellt eine Theorie der Rechte als Kritik auf. Wir werden also diskutieren, wie Rechte für gesellschaftskritische Projekte genutzt werden können und wie sie selbst Resultat von Widerstand und Revolten sind. Anmeldungen zum Workshop bitte an sekretariat.riescher@politik.uni-freiburg.de